Why I love being 21

21 is my year.

I’ve always said that something must be wrong because I never had enemies, I never had struggles. Everyone always says if you have enemies then that means you stood up for something. So if you don’t have any enemies then you probably haven’t stood up for anything. People also say struggles come before your blessing. If I have no struggles then I must not be headed towards a blessing. If I have no haters, then I must not be standing up for anything. I’m just living life chillin. Being complacent. Not standing up for what I believe in. Not fighting to get where I want to be. Not making any waves in this universe. Just existing. Mediocre.

But now I got some struggles. My coach over here acting like she don’t want me on the team. Talking about walk-ons this, walk-ons that, you won’t be invited back next year and all this extra. Got my friends over here tripping. Some are lost, some I just found out their true personality and I was forced to see the reality of who they are and what potential are friendship has.

Now I better know how to go about the rest of my life. I know I need to trust my instincts and stand up for what I believe in. I know this man came out of nowhere, literally nowhere and blessed my whole night.

I’ve never caught feelings that quick. I’ve never felt what I felt before. I’ve never dreamed about a man the same night we met. I never contemplated being exclusive with someone the night we just met. I never seen a man wear a grill and look cute!

I’m going somewhere this year. This is the year I get my life together. This is the year I do something amazing in track. This is the year I find or develop the friends I want. This is the year I get my man this is the year of 21.

This is my year

Leave a Reply

